en fr es

studies

study

Uganda

Karamoja, Mid-North and West Nile Regions

© Action Against Hunger USA




Brian Musaga

Managing organization
Action Against Hunger

funder
UNICEF

Uganda experiences high rates of undernutrition, particularly stunting. Although there has been significant progress in addressing the problem of undernutrition, the rate of improvement has been slow, with a recorded decrease of stunting of approximately 20% since 1988. Its current level is categorized as “high” in terms of its public health significance. Of recent, the double burden of malnutrition has emerged, with over-nutrition (overweight and obesity) joining the ranks with under-nutrition in most vulnerable areas.

This Link NCA study covered 18 districts in Karamoja, Mid-North and West Nile sub-regions. The extensive community consultations were complemented by analyses of existing datasets of previously conducted Food Security and Nutrition Assessments conducted by WFP and UNICEF.

Across three regions of the study zone, limited access to water and non-optimal infant and young child feeding practices received the highest rating. Other highly ranked risk factors included a limited access to health facilities, limited access to income sources, low coping capacities and inadequate sanitation practices.

Search on the website

Subscribe to the newsletter

en fr es

études

étude

Uganda

Karamoja, Mid-North and West Nile Regions

© Action Against Hunger USA




Brian Musaga

Organisation porteuse
Action Against Hunger

Financement
UNICEF

Ouganda connaît des taux élevés de sous-nutrition, en particulier de la malnutrition chronique. Bien que des progrès significatifs aient été accomplis dans la lutte contre ce problème, le taux d'amélioration a été lent, avec une diminution du retard de croissance d'environ 20% depuis 1988. Son niveau actuel est classé comme « élevé » en termes d'importance pour la santé publique. Récemment, le double fardeau de la malnutrition est apparu, avec la surnutrition (surpoids et obésité) rejoignant les rangs avec la sous-nutrition dans les zones les plus vulnérables.

Cette étude Link NCA a couvert 18 districts dans les sous-régions de Karamoja, Mid-North et West Nile. Les vastes consultations communautaires ont été complétées par des analyses des données existantes provenant des évaluations de la sécurité alimentaire et de la nutrition menées par le PAM et l'UNICEF.

Dans trois régions de la zone d'étude, l'accès limité à l'eau et les pratiques non optimales d'alimentation du nourrisson et du jeune enfant ont reçu la note la plus élevée. Parmi les autres facteurs de risque hautement classés, citons l'accès limité aux établissements de santé, l'accès limité aux sources de revenu, les faibles capacités d'adaptation et les pratiques d'assainissement inadéquates.

Rechercher sur le site

S'abonner à la newsletter