en fr es

studies

study

Pakistan

District of Tharparkar, Sindh Province

2019

© Shahid Fazal, Welthungerhilfe

PDF
Final Report - District of Thaparkar



Shahid Fazal

Managing organization
Welthungerhilfe

District of Tharparkar is a desert region located in the south eastern part of Pakistan. The district is chronically food insecure and heavily reliant on assistance. Despite numerous governmental and non-governmental interventions in recent years, the prevalence of under nutrition (both wasting and stunting) remains high.

The Link NCA quantitative survey revealed the prevalence of global acute malnutrition (GAM) at 27.8 % and the prevalence of global chronic malnutrition (GCM) at 47.3%. Both rates are higher than the 2018 World Health Organization (WHO) thresholds.

The analyses undertaken during this Link NCA study allowed us to identify 17 risk factors, believed to have an impact on the incidence of undernutrition in the zone of study. Following a triangulation of data from diverse sources, seven (7) risk factors were identified as having a major impact, namely:

  • Poor access to water,
  • Poor hygiene and sanitation practices,
  • Poor health services,
  • Poor complementary feeding practices of children aged 6-23 months,
  • Low availability of food
  • Poor diversity of household income sources and
  • Poor coping strategies.
  • Search on the website

    Subscribe to the newsletter

en fr es

études

étude

Pakistan

District of Tharparkar, Sindh Province

2019

© Shahid Fazal, Welthungerhilfe

PDF
Final Report - District of Thaparkar



Shahid Fazal

Organisation porteuse
Welthungerhilfe

Le district de Tharparkar est une région désertique située dans la partie sud-est du Pakistan. Le district souffre d'insécurité alimentaire chronique et dépend fortement de l'assistance. Malgré de nombreuses interventions gouvernementales et non gouvernementales au cours des dernières années, la prévalence de la sous-nutrition (émaciation et retard de croissance) reste élevée.

L'enquête quantitative Link NCA a révélé la prévalence de la malnutrition aiguë globale (MAG) à 27,8% et la prévalence de la malnutrition chronique mondiale (MCG) à 47,3%. Les deux taux sont supérieurs aux seuils de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) de 2018.

Les analyses réalisées lors de cette étude Link NCA nous ont permis d'identifier 17 facteurs de risque, susceptibles d’avoir l’effet sur l’incidence de la sous-nutrition dans la zone d’étude. Suite à une triangulation de données provenant de sources diverses, sept (7) facteurs de risque ont été identifiés comme ayant un impact majeur, à savoir:

  • Faible accès à l'eau,
  • Pratiques non-optimales d'hygiène et d'assainissement,
  • Qualité non-optimale des services de santé,
  • Pratiques inadéquates d'alimentation du nourrisson et du jeune enfant,
  • Faible accès aux aliments,
  • Faible diversité des sources de revenus des ménages et
  • Faibles capacités d’adaptation des ménages.
  • Rechercher sur le site

    S'abonner à la newsletter